Home » About » Baskin Engineering Leadership

Baskin Engineering Leadership

Alexander Wolf

Alexander Wolf, dean of the Baskin School of Engineering

Alexander Wolf serves as dean of the Baskin School of Engineering and is a distinguished professor of computer science and engineering at the University of California, Santa Cruz.

Alex’s research interests span the areas of distributed systems, networking, and software engineering. His achievements include seminal work in software architecture, business analytics, and information-centric networks. His more recent projects concern cloud computing, data-center networking, and service-based systems hosted on MANETs.

Anne Criss

Anne Criss is the assistant dean and chief of staff for Baskin Engineering. She has over 20 years of experience building and managing successful multidisciplinary teams and programs focused on climate change, sustainability and technology; fisheries ecology; toxics and water quality; and protected areas.

Anne has managed U.S. congressional and state legislative affairs, and has been called on to deliver testimony on a variety of scientific and technical subjects. She was appointed to four National Academy of Sciences research committees focused on impacts and adaptation to climate change and government policy approaches to transportation and climate change.

Anne Criss, assistant dean and chief of staff

Jim Whitehead

Jim Whitehead, associate dean for undergraduate experience and professor of computational media

Jim Whitehead is the associate dean for undergraduate experience and a professor of computational media. Jim received his B.S. in electrical engineering from Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute and his M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in information and computer science from the University of California, Irvine. His research interests include procedural content generation for games, testing autonomous vehicles, automation of software testing, software repository mining, software bug prediction, and level design in computer games.

A leader in education about computer games, Jim led the creation of the B.S. computer science: computer game design degree, and was a key figure in the first five years of the games and playable media M.S. program. He served as chair of the Computer Science Department from 2010–14, and Chair of Computational Media from 2017–19.

Roberto Manduchi

Roberto Manduchi is the associate dean for graduate experience and a professor of computer science and engineering.

Roberto obtained his Ph.D. in electrical engineering from the University of Padova, Italy. Before joining UC Santa Cruz in 2001, he held positions at Apple and NASA’s Jet Propulsion Laboratory. Roberto runs the Computer Vision Lab on campus, conducting research on assistive technology for individuals living with visual impairments.

Roberto Manduchi, associate dean for graduate experience and professor of computer science and engineering

Marcella Gomez

Marcella Gomez, associate dean for diversity, equity, and inclusion and associate professor of applied mathematics

Marcella Gomez is the inaugural associate dean for diversity, equity, and inclusion and an associate professor of applied mathematics. A first-generation, Mexican-American college graduate from Riverside, CA, Marcella received her B.S. in. mechanical engineering from UC Berkeley and a Ph.D. in. mechanical engineering from the California Institute of Technology.

Her research focus is on control and dynamical systems with applications to synthetic biology including modeling, analysis, and design of biological networks involved in gene regulation, metabolic engineering, and spatial patterning. She is a faculty affiliate of the UC Santa Cruz Research Center for the Americas, where her primary scholarly focus area is on “Climate Science, Environment, Ecology, & Nature Studies.” Marcella joined the Baskin School of Engineering in 2017.

Todd Lowe

Todd Lowe is the associate dean for research for Baskin Engineering and a professor in the Department of Biomolecular Engineering.

Todd received a B.A in biology from Williams College and a Ph.D. in molecular genetics from Washington University in St. Louis. He completed a postdoctoral fellowship in genetics at Stanford University and joined Baskin Engineering in 2001 as one of the founding faculty members of the school’s Biomolecular Engineering Department. His lab at Baskin Engineering combines molecular biology and computational approaches to study how non-coding RNA is regulated and functions in humans, animals, and unicellular organisms.

Todd Lowe, associate dean for research and professor of biomolecular engineering

Dean’s Council

Brandon Allgood

Brandon Allgood, Chief AI Office at Valo Health

Joe Burton

Joe Burton, Chief Executive Officer at Reputation (on leave)

Laura Bushnell

Laura Bushnell, Partner at King & Spaulding LLP

Ahmed Hamby

Ahmed Hamdy, MD, Chief Executive Officer at Vincerx Pharma

Michael Hilton

Michael Hilton, Board of Directors Member at Accolade

Birong Hu

Birong Hu, Financial Controller at SV Tech Ventures