Home » Baskin News » Fall 2022 awards and accolades

Fall 2022 awards and accolades

Shiva Abbaszadeh

Shiva Abbaszadeh, associate professor of electrical and computer engineering, won the 2022 Scialog Advancing BioImaging Team Award for her joint project titled, “Brain-inspired Real-time AI for Field Programmable Training Arrays.”

Luca de Alfaro

Luca de Alfaro, professor of computer science and engineering, won the 2022 CONCUR test of time award for his publication “The element of surprise in timed games,” which studies the effect of time and delay between moves in a two-person game. 

Rebecca DuBois

Rebecca DuBois, professor of biomolecular engineering, was awarded a $3.8M NIH grant to develop a vaccine for respiratory syncytial virus (RSV), a common and potentially dangerous virus. Additionally, she received a $379,529 supplement to one of her existing NIH awards to support her efforts in promoting Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, and Accessibility (DEIA) across Baskin Engineering’s labs and classrooms and for her newly developed program that supports vaccine research for underrepresented graduate students.

Xiangjian Gao

Xiangjian Gao, an electrical and computer engineering Ph.D. student, received the Electrical Power, Electronics, Communications, Control, & Informatics Seminar (EECCIS) Best Presenter Award for his paper “Through-wall UWB Communications with Limited Transmit Power.”

J.J. Garcia-Luna-Aceves

J.J. Garcia-Luna-Aceves, distinguished professor of computer science and engineering, recently won two best paper awards. First, he received the International Conference on Ubiquitous Networking 2022 (UNet ’22) Best Paper Award for his publication, “TCP-RTA: Real-Time Topology Adaptiveness for Congestion Control in TCP,” co-authored by Ramesh Srinivasan, computer engineering Ph.D. candidate. He then received the 2022 ACM International Symposium on Performance Evaluation of Wireless Ad Hoc, Sensor, and Ubiquitous Networks (ACM PE-WASUN ’22) Best Paper Award for his publication “Making ALOHA Intelligent Taking Advantage of Working Memory Capacity,” co-authored by Baskin Engineering Ph.D. students Dylan Cirimelli-Low and Shedieh Homayon.

David Haussler

David Haussler, distinguished professor of biomolecular engineering and UC Santa Cruz Genomics Institute scientific director, ranks #219 nationally and #324 globally on Research.com’s 2022 Best Scientists in the World list.

Portrait of Swati Jindal

Swati Jindal, a computer science Ph.D. candidate, won the Best Paper award at the Gaze Meets Machine Learning workshop at the 2022 Conference on Neural Information Processing Systems for her paper “Contrastive Representation Learning for Gaze Estimation.”

Colleen Josephson

Colleen Josephson, assistant professor of electrical and computer engineering, has been recognized by Networking Networking Women for outstanding research in the fields of networking and communications.

Daniel Kim

Daniel Kim, assistant professor of biomolecular engineering, won a four-year, $792,000 Research Scholar award from the American Cancer Society to support his work in developing RNA liquid biopsy technology to diagnose cancer early on.

Dongwook Lee

Dongwook Lee, professor of applied mathematics, won a $1.1 million US Department of Energy grant to develop numerical models for improving safety mechanisms within the next generation of particle accelerators.

Heiner Litz

Heiner Litz, assistant professor of computer science and engineering, won the Best Paper Award at the 2022 IEEE/ACM International Symposium on Microarchitecture (MICRO 22). His paper, “Whisper: Profile-Guided Branch Misprediction Elimination for Data Center Applications,” was selected among 380 submissions.

Jianshen Liu

Jianshen Liu, a computer science Ph.D. candidate, won the Outstanding Student Paper Award at the IEEE HPEC Conference for his publication “Processing Particle Data Flows with SmartNICs” that details the use of Apache Arrow as a foundation for implementing data-flow tasks on network interface cards.

Carlos Maltzahn, founder of CROSS and adjunct professor, and Stephanie Lieggi, CROSS executive director, were awarded an NSF Pathways to Enable Open-Source Ecosystems (POSE) program grant to strengthen infrastructure for open source ecosystems at UCSC.

Eddie Melcer

Eddie Melcer, assistant professor of computational media, won the 2022 Meaningful Play Conference People’s Choice Award for his game Mad Mixologist, a two-player, VR alternative controller game that requires a high degree of collaboration to create the perfect cocktail.

Raquel Prado

Raquel Prado, professor of statistics, won the 2022 Zellner Medal, an award presented annually by the International Society for Bayesian Analysis for distinguished service and exceptional contributions to the field.

Ricardo Sanfelice

Ricardo Sanfelice, professor of electrical and computer engineering, has been named inaugural director of CITRIS Aviation, an initiative launched in 2021 to support interdisciplinary development of cutting-edge technologies and applications to improve environmental monitoring, urban air mobility, wildfire response, security policy, and more.

Ali Shariati

Ali Shariati, assistant professor of biomolecular engineering, won the $1.9M National Institute of Health’s Maximizing Investigators’ Research Award to understand and engineer pluripotent stem cells.

Peng Zhou

Peng Zhou, an electrical and computer engineering Ph.D. candidate, received the “Best New Neuromorph” award at the 2022 Telluride Neuromorphic Cognition Engineering Workshop, a 3-week, project-based meeting organized around specific topic areas to bring the organizing principles of neural cognition into artificial intelligence (AI), and to use AI to understand how brains work.